Brotherband Chronicles John Flanagan Collection 6 Books Set – Paperback – Young Adults



The Brotherband Chronicles is a thrilling young adult book series written by the award-winning author John Flanagan. The series is set in the fictional world of Skandia, where young warriors known as Brotherband are trained to become skilled seafarers and fierce fighters. The series follows the adventures of a group of young Brotherband warriors as they navigate the challenges of training and battle against their enemies.

The Brotherband Chronicles is a great book series for young readers who enjoy adventure, action, and a bit of humour. Perfect for confident and independent readers aged 9-14+ who are fans of Percy Jackson and the Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan. The characters are well-developed, and young readers will find themselves rooting for Hal and his Brotherband throughout their journey. The series is also a great introduction to the world of Skandia, which is full of fascinating culture, history, and mythology.

The first book in the series, The Outcasts, introduces us to the main character Hal Mikkelson, a 16-year-old boy who is an outcast among his peers. Hal is the son of a Skandian warrior and an Araluen princess, making him different from the other boys in his village. He is small in stature and does not fit in with the typical Skandian warrior image of tall, muscular men. However, Hal is intelligent, resourceful, and has a natural talent for sailing, which he uses to his advantage.

The story begins with Hal being chosen as the leader of a Brotherband made up of other misfits and outcasts like himself. Together, they must compete in a series of challenges against other Brotherbands to prove their worth and earn the title of the best Brotherband. Along the way, they encounter dangerous enemies and face daunting obstacles, but they never give up.

In the second book of the series, The Invaders, Hal and his Brotherband are faced with a new challenge as they defend their village against invaders from a neighbouring country. The story delves deeper into the history and politics of Skandia, giving readers a more comprehensive understanding of the world in which the characters live.

The third book, The Hunters, takes readers on a new adventure as Hal and his Brotherband embark on a quest to retrieve a precious artefact stolen from their village. Along the way, they encounter fierce enemies and unexpected allies, making for a thrilling and suspenseful read.

The fourth book, Slaves of Socorro, sees Hal and his Brotherband on a rescue mission to save their friend and fellow Brotherband member, Ingvar, who has been captured by a ruthless pirate. The story explores themes of loyalty, sacrifice, and the true meaning of friendship.

The fifth book, Scorpion Mountain, takes readers on a journey to the mysterious land of Arrida, where Hal and his Brotherband are tasked with escorting a group of Araluen ambassadors to a peace summit. The journey is treacherous, and the Brotherband must navigate the dangerous terrain and confront deadly foes.

The sixth book in the series, The Ghostfaces, sees Hal and his Brotherband on a mission to rescue captured Araluen citizens from a group of savage raiders known as the Ghostfaces. The story is filled with action, adventure, and unexpected twists and turns, making for a satisfying conclusion to the series.

Overall, the Brotherband Chronicles is a fantastic book series that will captivate young readers with its engaging characters, thrilling plot, and richly imagined world. John Flanagan has created a series that is both entertaining and educational, offering readers a glimpse into the world of Skandia and the life of a Brotherband warrior. Whether you are a fan of adventure, action, or simply great storytelling, the Brotherband Chronicles is a series that you will not want to miss.

Titles in this Set:

  1. The Outcasts
  2. The Invaders
  3. The Hunters
  4. Slaves of Socorro
  5. Scorpion Mountain
  6. The Ghostfaces

Description from the publisher:

The Outcasts

Boys are chosen for teams called Brotherbands and must endure months of gruelling battles in the treacherous sea. Hal finds himself the unwilling leader of a band of outcasts, the boys that no one wants. They are small and wiry, but what they lack in size, they make up with skill and courage. Now they must battle against the other bands in the ultimate race where there can only be one winner.

The Invaders

Hal and the Herons have done the impossible. This group of outsiders has beaten out the strongest, most skilled young warriors in all of Skandia to win the Brotherband competition. But their celebration comes to an abrupt end when the Skandians’ most sacred artefact, the Andomal, is stolen–and the Herons are to blame.

The Hunters

Hal and his brotherband crew are hot on the trail of the pirate Zavac, and they have one thing only on their minds: Stopping the bloodthirsty thief before he can do more damage. Of course, they also know Zavac has the Andomal, the priceless Skandian artefact stolen when the brotherband let down their guard. The chase leads down mighty rivers, and terrifying rapids, to the lawless fortress of Ragusa.

Slaves of Socorro

When the Heron brotherband becomes the Skandian duty ship to the Kingdom of Araluen, theyre excited at the challenges ahead. Hal, Stig, Thorn and the Herons eagerly set off for the trip with an unexpected new crew member aboard. But an enemy from their past returns, causing the Herons to be thrown into a dangerous quest to free captured Araluans from the slave market in Socorro.

Scorpion Mountain

King Duncan of Araluen has an urgent mission for Hal and the Heron Brotherband. One assassination attempt on Princess Cassandra was foiled. But the killers wont be satisfied until they have fulfilled their honour-bound duty.

The Ghostfaces

When the Brotherband crew are caught in a massive storm at sea, theyre blown far off course and wash up on the shores of a land so far west that Hal cant recognise it from any of his maps. Eerily, the locals are nowhere in sight, yet the Herons have a creeping feeling they are being watched.