Knights Of The Borrowed Dark 3 Books – Ages 9-14 – Paperback – Dave Rudden



Knights of the Borrowed Dark is a thrilling trilogy of young adult fantasy novels by Irish author Dave Rudden. The series follows the adventures of an orphan boy named Denizen Hardwick, who discovers a hidden world of magical creatures and becomes embroiled in a battle between the forces of light and darkness.

In the first book of the series, Knights of the Borrowed Dark, we meet Denizen, a 12-year-old orphan who has been raised in an institution for children without families. Denizen’s life changes forever when a mysterious man named Grey arrives and informs him that he is actually part of an ancient order of knights tasked with protecting the world from monstrous creatures called Tenebrous. Denizen must leave behind the only life he has ever known and join Grey and his fellow knights in their battle against the forces of darkness.

The world-building in Knights of the Borrowed Dark is exceptional, with Rudden creating a vivid and detailed universe that is both eerie and fantastical. The Tenebrous are particularly well-crafted, with their grotesque appearance and terrifying powers making them genuinely menacing antagonists. However, it is the characters that truly make this book stand out. Denizen is a sympathetic and relatable protagonist, while Grey is a fascinating and enigmatic figure who keeps readers guessing about his true motives.

The Forever Court is the second book in the series and sees Denizen settling into his role as a knight and learning more about the history and mythology of the order. When a new threat emerges in the form of the Forever Court, a group of immortal beings who seek to control the fate of the world, Denizen and his allies must once again put their lives on the line to protect humanity.

The Forever Court builds on the foundations laid in the first book, deepening the lore and mythology of the series while also introducing new and exciting elements. The Forever Court itself is a fascinating concept, and Rudden explores the idea of immortality and its potential consequences in an intriguing way. Once again, the characters are the highlight of the book, with Denizen continuing to grow and evolve as a protagonist and Grey revealing more of his complex backstory.

In the final book of the series, The Endless King, Denizen and his fellow knights face their greatest challenge yet as they prepare for a final showdown with the Endless King, the leader of the Tenebrous and the ultimate enemy of the order. As the world teeters on the brink of destruction, Denizen must confront his own inner demons and make a decision that will determine the fate of all humanity.

The Endless King is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy, bringing the various threads of the story together in a satisfying and emotionally resonant way. Rudden once again displays his mastery of world-building and character development, with the stakes raised to dizzying heights as the fate of the world hangs in the balance. The book is full of thrilling action sequences and heart-wrenching moments, with a conclusion that is both surprising and deeply satisfying.

Overall, the Knights of the Borrowed Dark trilogy is a must-read for fans of young adult fantasy. Dave Rudden has created a rich and compelling world populated by memorable and engaging characters and filled with action, suspense, and heart. The series is a testament to the power of storytelling and the enduring appeal of the hero’s journey and is sure to leave readers spellbound from beginning to end.

Titles in This Set:

Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1)
The Forever Court (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 2)
The Endless King (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 3)

Description from the publisher:

The Forever Court
Life is returning to normal for Denizen Hardwick. Well, the new normal, where he has to battle monsters in quiet Dublin bookshops and constantly struggle to contain the new powers he has been given by Mercy, the daughter of the Endless King. But Denizen may need those powers sooner than he thinks – not only are the Tenebrous stirring again, but the Order of the Borrowed Dark faces a new threat from much closer to home…

Knights Of The Borrowed Dark
Denizen Hardwick doesn’t believe in magic – until he’s ambushed by a monster created from shadows and sees it destroyed by a word made of sunlight. That kind of thing can really change your perspective. Now Denizen is about to discover that there’s a world beyond the one he knows. A world of living darkness where an unseen enemy awaits. Fortunately for humanity, between us and the shadows stand the Knights of the Borrowed Dark. Unfortunately for Denizen, he’s one of them…

The Endless King
There’s nothing like an apocalypse to kick off the school year. Denizen Hardwick has travelled to Daybreak, the ancestral home of the Order of the Borrowed Dark, to continue his training as a knight. But lessons have barely begun before an unexpected arrival appears with news that throws the fortress into an uproar. The Endless King has fallen, his dark realm rising in a brutal civil war. When the conflict strikes closer to home, Denizen and his friends face their greatest challenge yet. For if Daybreak falls, so does the world . . .

About the Author:

Dave Rudden is an Irish author and screenwriter, born in Dublin in 1991. He grew up in a family of storytellers and developed a love of reading and writing at a young age. After completing his studies at Trinity College Dublin, where he earned a degree in English and History, he began working as a teacher and a freelance writer. He has also completed his Creative Writing Masters at University College Dublin, earning a first-class honours degree.

Rudden’s breakthrough came with the publication of his debut novel, Knights of the Borrowed Dark, in 2016. The book was a critical and commercial success, winning several awards and earning rave reviews for its inventive world-building, memorable characters, and thrilling plot. It was followed by two sequels, The Forever Court and The Endless King, completing the Knights of the Borrowed Dark trilogy.